Thursday, February 3, 2011

Recruiting: A look around the Delta

GREENVILLE — It was different this time around for Mississippi Valley State. Last year on National Signing day, the hyped-up event came and went without one signee for the Delta Devils.
But this go around, MVSU officially signed 16 prospects — including heralded Coahoma County running back Cedric Blue, who rushed for over 2,000 yards last season.
"We have high hopes for the incoming students and the staff and I are patiently waiting for the 2011 season," said MVSU coach Karl Morgan.
MVSU, who brought in 10 mid-year signees last month, snatched up most of their recruits from the Delta. Three players come from Greenwood High, one each from Coahoma Community College, Itawamba CC, Leflore County, Greenville-Weston, J.F. Kennedy and East Side high schools.
Area signees include Greenwood's D'Ondre Johnson, Letrey Jones and Kevin Haymore; Leflore County's Michael Bowman; East Side's Jamal Green; and Greenville-Weston's Charles Moore.
The entire list can be viewed at

Delta State
Delta State's Division-II Championship berth apparently sparked up recruiting as the Statesmen signed 25 new prospects Wednesday afternoon.
Of the 25 players, the stud of the group is Hammond, La. native receiver Mark Bridgewater, who reportedly had offers from Mississippi State and Memphis.
"We believe we have really addressed some of the needs of our football team," said DSU coach Ron Roberts. "Our coaching staff has worked feverishly over the last few weeks to secure this class and I believe their hard work has paid off with one of the best classes we've ever signed at Delta State."
The Statesmen inked one quarterback: Natchez High's Javon Washington. The largest haul came on the defensive line where DSU inked six.
They also brought in two kicking specialists, including Madsion-Ridgeland Academy's Jack Tharp.
The entire list can be viewed at

Coahoma County Community College
Thirteen Coahoma Community College football players will suit up at four-year schools in the fall. Here's the list: (hometown, position; new school)
1. Maurice Brooks (Charleston; offensive lineman; Jackson State)
2. Justin Thomas (Memphis; offensive lineman; Mississippi Valley State)
3. Napoleon Brewer (Memphis; defensive back; Mississippi Valley State)
4. Zavier Johnson (Indianola; linebacker; Alcorn State)
5. Charles Harris (Charleston; safety; South Alabama)
6. Ceasare Johnson (Memphis; defensive lineman; South Alabama)
7. Rishunn McCaleb (Indianola; receiver; Tennessee State)
8. Hollis Moore II (Memphis; receiver; Troy)
9. DeAndre Ward (Clarksdale; deep snaper; Mississippi Valley State)
10. Antrale Newson (Clarksdale; offensive lineman; Grambling)
11. Devon Perry (Memphis; receiver; Lane College)
12. Nikko Hamer (Memphis; safety; Lane College)
13. Byron Gadsen (Clarksdale; defensive back; Arkansas Tech)

No comments: